Driving without insurance in Nebraska

0


There is no benefit in trying to save money by driving without car insurance in Nebraska. The modest amount you could save by circumventing the law will be more than outweighed by the serious consequences you will face if you are not insured. In Nebraska, the fines for driving without insurance are high. Additionally, license suspension and even potential incarceration time can be a result for uninsured drivers.

Minimum insurance required in Nebraska

Automobile liability insurance offers crucial protection to drivers if they are involved in an accident and are determined to be responsible for injury to others or damage to their property. Nebraska law provides that state drivers must carry certain minimum amounts of liability coverage to remedy this situation.

These minimum required liability insurance limits in Nebraska are:

  • $ 25,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $ 50,000 per accident for bodily injury, i.e. for more than one person
  • $ 25,000 per accident for property damage

In today’s world, these minimum limits may not provide enough protection for you and your family if you are responsible for a serious accident. It is wise to review these limits with your carrier, determine the total of your assets that could be at risk in a lawsuit, understand your insurance options in Nebraska, and set your limits accordingly.

Penalties for driving without insurance in Nebraska

If you are found guilty of driving without the minimum amount of liability insurance in Nebraska, your license will likely be automatically suspended. Additionally, you will be subject to a fine and will need to take specific steps to verify your financial responsibility for future driving obligations. The penalties and fines become increasingly severe with subsequent offenses.

Failure to provide proof of insurance

You will receive a citation for “No Proof of Insurance” if you are the owner of a vehicle and are unable to produce proof of insurance at the request of a Nebraska law enforcement officer. . If there was, in fact, the required insurance in place when the citation was issued and you simply did not have any proof with you, there are steps that can be taken to lift the suspension.

You will need to submit a verification letter to the Department of Motor Vehicles indicating that the insurance was in place. Upon receipt, the DMV “will eventually remove the suspension from your file”. With many insurers, you have the option of producing digital proof of insurance through the insurer’s app, which can help you avoid this scenario.

Conviction for lack of proof of insurance

If you are unable to prove that you were properly insured after receiving a citation for “No Proof of Insurance”, you could be convicted of this offense and have your driver’s license suspended. To reinstate your driver’s license, you will need to pay a $ 50 fee and comply with Nebraska SR-22 requirements.

SR-22 Requirements

In order to reinstate your Nebraska driver’s license after it was suspended for driving without insurance, you will need to follow the prescribed steps to prove your financial responsibility for future accidents. Indeed, you must formally verify that you are well insured. This requirement can be issued by a judge or DMV.

In Nebraska, the standard way to prove financial responsibility and meet the requirement is to file an SR-22 Certificate of Insurance form with the Nebraska DMV. The SR-22 form will be completed and submitted by your auto insurance company and it should remain on file for three years from the date the citation for “No Proof of Insurance” was issued. It is important to know that a separate SR-22 form must be filed for each vehicle owned by the convicted driver.

Have an accident without insurance

Anytime you are involved in a car accident in Nebraska, whether you are at fault or not, the law enforcement officer at the scene will ask the drivers involved to provide proof of insurance. This is a mandatory step in the agent accident reporting process.

If you are unable to provide adequate proof of insurance at the scene, you will usually receive a hearing date within 10 days, by which time you will need to provide proof that you were insured at the time of the claim. accident. If you cannot do this, you will face the consequences described above.

Nebraska is a responsible state that uses a comparative negligence standard to allocate liability among those involved in an automobile accident. Unlike a no-fault condition, this means that whether insured or not, your liability will be set by the percentage each party in the accident was responsible for. With insurance, your carrier will cover the portion of your liability to the other driver.

The consequences for a driver who is uninsured and involved in an accident in Nebraska is that the driver will have to bear alone the part of the responsibility attributed to the driver for the accident. In some cases, a court judgment could potentially hold an uninsured driver financially responsible for incalculable medical bills and permanent injuries suffered by other drivers and their passengers. It could lead to bankruptcy and worse.

Frequently Asked Questions

What if you provide false insurance information?

A conviction for driving without insurance in Nebraska will have consequences that could take several years to resolve. It would make matters worse and have additional consequences if you provide false information about your coverage to a law enforcement officer. Providing false insurance information is a crime that can lead to serious penalties. Providing false information to your insurer can also result in the cancellation of the policy or the denial of a claim.

How Much Does Car Insurance Cost in Nebraska?

The average annual auto insurance premium for full coverage in Nebraska is $ 1,531 or $ 128 per month, based on annual premiums offered by Quadrant Information Services. The exact premium you will pay will vary by these amounts depending on the factors that auto insurance companies consider when setting premiums. These include your age, location, driving history, and any available discounts you qualify for.

Do I have to report all accidents to my auto insurance company?

It is a common myth that auto insurance companies always increase their rates when they learn of an insured person’s incident. Not all claims affect your insurance rates, but the risk of not reporting an incident, even if you don’t file a refund claim, can subject you to costly liability lawsuit. If you did not promptly notify your auto insurance company at the time of the incident and need coverage after the fact, your claim may be denied later.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.